All times are UTC


It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 8:59 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: FAQ is LIVE
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 5:03 pm 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 8:20 am
Posts: 33
Link: https://www.warhammer-community.com/faqs/
Link to Warhamer Community article: https://www.warhammer-community.com/201 ... arth-faqs/

_________________
My avatar drawn by the LomL and coloured by myself.
----------
Check out my blog: https://thelandofaporia.wordpress.com/
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: FAQ is LIVE
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:14 pm 
Craftsman
Craftsman
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:39 pm
Posts: 476
Location: The Waitting Place
I got to say I am not really satisfied by the explanation for the heroic action resolution.

Quote:
Q: If my opponent has Priority and chooses not to declare any Heroic
Actions in a specific phase, and then wishes to do so after I declare a
Heroic Action, can they still do so or has their opportunity to declare
Heroic Actions passed? (p.57)
A: Yes. Both players may continue to declare Heroic Actions back and
forth, starting with the player with Priority, until both players are
satisfied they have declared all the Heroic Actions they wish to.


What does this even mean? What are they saying "yes" to exactly? I can still read this both ways and it contradicts the rule book that makes players without priority choose first when both players want to declare actions. What does everyone else make of this?

The other thing I real do not like is that they just through up there hands on the Tom v. Floi problem and said "screw it! Floi can't affect three models now and that is just it" (not that they really said that). I do not know what I expected them to do but it just looks like they have been beaten by a bug in the rules and had to resort to invisible walls to stop it.

Other than that, though, I am glad their cleared up other things like with the Stormcaller's wind spell, the twins unbreakable bound rule, the golden king, and Mumak and Iron Hills Chariot with relation to magic.

_________________
"Draw your sword with a heavy heart, but swing it with a heavy hand"
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: FAQ is LIVE
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:23 pm 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 8:20 am
Posts: 33
Quote:
Q: If my opponent has Priority and chooses not to declare any Heroic
Actions in a specific phase, and then wishes to do so after I declare a
Heroic Action, can they still do so or has their opportunity to declare
Heroic Actions passed? (p.57)
A: Yes. Both players may continue to declare Heroic Actions back and
forth, starting with the player with Priority, until both players are
satisfied they have declared all the Heroic Actions they wish to.


In regards to this I thought it was pretty clear. When you call an heroic action, regardless of any other factors. (including if your opponent has priority and didn't call any heroic actions) Then your opponent can call an heroic action. You can even call a different heroic action, in response to a heroic action that's been called in response to a heroic action.
Then again I'm no rules lawyer so I'm probably missing whats confused you. :)

_________________
My avatar drawn by the LomL and coloured by myself.
----------
Check out my blog: https://thelandofaporia.wordpress.com/
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: FAQ is LIVE
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 7:23 pm 
Craftsman
Craftsman
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:39 pm
Posts: 476
Location: The Waitting Place
Maybe I am just being paranoid. The way I would read this is that because the players alternate selecting a hero and declaring an action either play can elect to do nothing and if the other then calls another action the first player with have the opportunity to decide to do something again or not. A player can change their minds about not calling an action until the phase proper begins too. Plus, a player can not be tricked into waving this ability to reconsider through dialog with their opponent.

But I still do not get why it says the player with priority must start the possess. Does that mean that they just have to wave first or that they have to declare something to start the sequence? I would think the former.

_________________
"Draw your sword with a heavy heart, but swing it with a heavy hand"
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: FAQ is LIVE
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 8:30 pm 
Craftsman
Craftsman
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 5:40 pm
Posts: 272
Location: Massachusetts, USA
I think you're over-thinking it a bit... here's the loophole the rule closes....

- My hero is F6 and my opponent's hero is F5 and we are facing off.
- I win Priority but I don't need to call a Heroic Strike because I'm higher Fight Value
- My opponent then calls a Heroic Strike with his F5 hero to get higher than my hero
- Under the rule, I can now also call a Heroic Strike if I want to, to counter his Heroic Strike up. Without the rule, I'd be stuck at F6 and would almost definitely be stuck with the lower fight value.
- At the same time, if I did call a Heroic Strike during my Priority, my opponent could simply pass on calling a Heroic of his own as he'll likely be lower Fight Value even after the Strike Up - and he'd still have his Might point.

If that rule wasn't in place, there would be a huge disadvantage to the player with the hero with the Higher Fight Value if that player wins Priority.

Make sense ?

_________________
T'was in the darkest depths of Mordor, I met a girl so fair..
But Gollum, and the evil one crept up and slipped away with her..
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: FAQ is LIVE
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:42 pm 
Craftsman
Craftsman
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:39 pm
Posts: 476
Location: The Waitting Place
Yep. I will be interested to see how this handles in game now.

_________________
"Draw your sword with a heavy heart, but swing it with a heavy hand"
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: