All times are UTC


It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:20 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Throwing Weapons. How do they work?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 3:11 am 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 8:17 am
Posts: 3
So I'm collecting a Rohan force and am thinking of using massed throwing spears on my Riders of Rohan. I just wanted some clarification one the rules for throwing weapons.

1. If I move at full speed with the RoR, does he still have the -1 to hit if he throws his spear?
2. Can the RoR throw his spear during his move phase, then charge into combat (e.g. RoR moves 4", throws his spear [since he didn't move more than 4" at this point, can he throw it without the -1 to hit], then moves the rest of his movement into combat)?
3. If a RoR can throw his spear before he moves into combat, can he throw it at a different target to the one he was going to charge?
4. (unrelated) Do RoRs count towards your bow limit?
5. For the purpose of the -1 to hit with bows, etc, does the RoR count his horse or his human movement of 6" as a half move with no penalty to shoot?
6. Is a throwing weapon/spear always Strength 3 regardless of the strength of the thrower?

Thanks in advance. DEAATTTTTHHHH!!!!
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Throwing Weapons. How do they work?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:39 am 
Ringwraith
Ringwraith
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:11 am
Posts: 545
Location: Nottinghamshire
Hello there, Grumio.

1) Yes
2 & 3) When throwing during the Move Phase you must throw at the model you are charging. You stop when you are 1" away from the target model to make the throwing weapon attack. If you kill the target you may then charge a different target (as long as you have enough movement left). You still get the -1 to hit, as this applies if you move at all in the Move Phase.
4) No, don't count them at all. So you may take a third of all other Warriors with bow.
5) A mounted model always uses the mounts movement value, the -1 applies if you move at all. A Rider of Rohan can move 5" (half the horses move of 10") and fire (with a -1 penalty).
6) Yes throwing weapons are alway Strength 3 (unless stated otherwise) and are not affected by the Strength of the model.

Hope those help
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Throwing Weapons. How do they work?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 11:47 pm 
Craftsman
Craftsman
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:40 pm
Posts: 297
to 4. they do not count towards bow limit but with troops like warriors of rohan and outriders they still follow it. so you cannot have 1/3 outriders and 2/3 ROR since the ROR do not count towards the limit. you can have for example 4 ROR 6 WOR and 2 outriders.
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: