All times are UTC


It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 4:04 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Trapped Warriors Rules
PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 11:31 pm 
Kinsman
Kinsman
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 3:17 am
Posts: 214
I have a few question regarding trapped fighters and the act of trapping fighters.

Is a model trapped if it has 3 other same size models around it? Or do they have to be placed equidistant to stop the trapped fighter from backing away?

Can a model "swing around" the engagement zone after initiating a fight? Say he can only get to one side of the model before he engages, at this point can he continue swinging around the edge to attack from the other side?

When rolling dice for these fights, does the side that's trapping get to roll double to attack AND double to wound? Or just double to wound if they win?

This last question is less about trapped fighters.

If a Hobbit with one wound and one fate point loses a one on one fight trapped in a corner and the trapping model (say a goblin) rolls 2 wounding hits, can the Hobbit avoid both wounding hits via a lucky fate roll? Or does using the fate point and having a successful roll only avoid one of the wound rolls and is therefore pointless?

_________________
Backlog Reduction Oath
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Trapped Warriors Rules
PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:40 am 
Loremaster
Loremaster
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 9:14 am
Posts: 1019
A model is trapped if it simply cannot physically move away 1 inch. This will certainly be the case if three figures are all placed equidistant around it, but not necessarily if a figure is fighting against three models (if the three are all in contact with each other, the base should be able to move away easily).

Yes, as long as there is space to move and you have enough movement to do so, you can continue with your movement after entering the control zone of a figure. The only condition is that you have to end in base contact with that figure (i.e. charge it), but you can slide sideways or even to the other end of the charged figure before ending the move.

You only double the strikes, i.e. the to wound rolls, when fighting against a trapped figure. They have the chance to try and fend off their various assailants first!

Every point of Fate can only stop a single inflicted wound. If you have 1 Wound and 1 Fate and suffer 2 Wounds, no amount of luck will save you...
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Trapped Warriors Rules
PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 4:15 am 
Elven Warrior
Elven Warrior
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:56 am
Posts: 727
Location: Central Coast, NSW, Australia
As above

_________________
My trade thread
http://www.one-ring.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=25957&p=325932#p325932
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Trapped Warriors Rules
PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 7:20 am 
Kinsman
Kinsman
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 3:17 am
Posts: 214
Thanks for clearing all of these up

_________________
Backlog Reduction Oath
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Trapped Warriors Rules
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:33 pm 
Kinsman
Kinsman
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 3:17 am
Posts: 214
In the case of player A having priority and initiating combat with one of player Bs models, during player B's move phase, can player B perform the same swinging action as noted above? <- this would make trapping player A's models more easily.

Do supporting models get extra wounding rolls as well?

If player A's model has 2 of player B's models attacking it and is back against a friend who is also battling 2 foes, are these models trapped by their friends combat?

Does the order of working out the combats change who may be trapped?

I want to make sure I have a good handle on this rule because it seems like one of the most overpowered situations!

_________________
Backlog Reduction Oath
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Trapped Warriors Rules
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 10:38 pm 
Loremaster
Loremaster
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 9:14 am
Posts: 1019
Quite right, careful positioning of models to trap them is a considerable factor in achieving victory!

-No, once a model is in combat, it cannot move in its move phase. This is why having priority can be very important.

-Yes, spear support will also get double strikes against a trapped model. Being surrounded by a bunch of opponents with supports can easily take down even the mightiest monster or hero.

-Probably. If I understand the battle situation correctly, the first will almost certainly be trapped (again, it simply depends on whether the figure can physically move away). Depending on the way the combats work out, the second figure may not be trapped, if either his friend can now make way, or if the friend is killed, thus freeing up space to back away into.

-Which figures are or aren't trapped is only determined when making the rolls in that particular duel. This makes it important to survey the battle lines carefully to see if you can spot a trapped combatant to fight first, or instead look for ways to get out of traps if you can. Again, this makes having priority very important.
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Trapped Warriors Rules
PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:54 am 
Kinsman
Kinsman
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 3:17 am
Posts: 214
Thanks again! I'm sure I'll be back in here with more questions once the battle situations occur.

_________________
Backlog Reduction Oath
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Trapped Warriors Rules
PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:42 am 
Loremaster
Loremaster
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 9:14 am
Posts: 1019
No problem, here to help!
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: