All times are UTC


It is currently Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:15 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Question about paralyze and the Great Beast
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:29 pm 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 9:55 pm
Posts: 4
How does the spell ‘paralyze’ affect the Great Beast of Gorgoroth?

Rules as Written- the beast would immeadiately fall over and the orc crew will get thrown.

This is odd because the faqs and errata for the Great Beast regarding other spells and movement effects indicate that the Great Beast can’t be knocked down in very specific situations. Perhaps they forgot to list paralyze. It seems odd that paralyze would make it topple over.

We ended up playing it that the Great Beast would be paralyzed, but would not be knocked down.

Any thoughts?
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Question about paralyze and the Great Beast
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:32 am 
Kinsman
Kinsman
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 3:23 pm
Posts: 164
Location: United Kingdom
Spells that affect movement against the great beast only affect one of the crew, as far as I'm aware, you could therefore paralyze the handler and this would stop the beast from moving or paralyze one of the bowmen. It works the same as the mumak as in it can't be made to fall over.
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Question about paralyze and the Great Beast
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:42 pm 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 9:55 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks for the reply. The FAQ’s and erratta that mention what you point out, end with the scentence that is something like “and will likewise effect the Beast.” So he can be compelled and transfixed- and I assume paralyzed. The ‘not being able to target the beast but can target the driver’ really does not change anything since you can’t take a driver with Will to resist; its kind of a useless clarification on the part of GW.

The knock down part is the issue. I am assuming that he can’t be knocked down because the most recent FAQ states that it can not be knocked down by Nature’s Wraith.

They really need to come up with a rule like “Steady” or something like that to cover all of these rules issues for the big critters. There is no consistency.
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: