All times are UTC

It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 9:22 am

Post subject: Need help with White Council Chamber
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 5:27 am 
Craftsman
Craftsman

I'm back after a bit of a break and wish to make a White Council diorama, the only problem is I have very limited terrain building experience.

I'm studying pictures and don't wish to do the whole chamber tower just the first levels columns, the table, floor and perhaps have some water/vegetation.

I know I don't wish to use Hirst art blocks to build the chamber due to the fact that by the looks it won't paint up as nicely as I wish and I'd like a smoother stone look.

Does anyone have any ideas how I could begin such a task? What materials I could use? Any help would be appreciated as I am quite the terrain novice.

Post subject: Re: Need help with White Council Chamber
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:32 am 
Ringwraith
Ringwraith

Not sure how much this will help as this is about the finishing, not building the structure. I'm planning a bit similar thing and bought a bag of seashell pieces from a craft shop. They are not very curved and have very beautiful mostly green/blue shine on the inside with a hint of other colours depending on the viewing angle. My idea is just to cover the structure building material, at least the floor and maybe also the pillars with them. It's not the same as in the movies but matches very well my imagination of how Rivendell could look like.

-- Pasi
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 11:58 am 
Elven Elder
Elven Elder

My initial thoughts would be something like styrene to make the curvatures. You could make it a section at a time ie two supports and the arch, but then again by the time you have done one section it would be better to create a mold to have duplicated accurately.
I think if you draw this out on some card and mark out the columns accurately you will have the dimensions for the first piece.