All times are UTC

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:31 pm

Post subject: Gondoran Noble Estate
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:31 pm 
Elven Warrior
Elven Warrior

I cannot claim credit for the design, it was copied off one I saw online for the most part. The east balconies are my original design. I sincerely hope I am a better nurse than architect, as I had to make a lot of adjustments along the way! :oops:

Aerial view. South is at the top of the image for reference.

Yes, you can lift the top off to play inside, as this proxy knight of Dol Amroth demonstrates.

The courtyard. It probably would've made more sense to tile this and make it part of the interior of the building, since it really doesn't have much living quarters. But it looks so pretty as a courtyard, and this is what makes it a noble's estate. That is supposed to be a fountain against the wall. It will have an ornament made from a spare Fireforge horse head, which at the moment has been misplaced. Eventually I will add some resin water to the basin, when I graduate and have some money for such eccentricities. I went with a greener grass in here, as the other didn't contrast well and it was supposed to have been a garden in peaceful times. The window on the upper staircase is a Khan Artist original concept. I played around with some blocks to make something that would work for the staircase, and by golly, it came out great! :roll:

Dollar store moss for the vines. It looks better than I thought it would! and it breaks up the visual blah of the slab wall at the back end of the estate. The deader grass can be seen here. There is only a flat wall under the balcony.

Originally the second storey was to have a matching balcony, but it was just too unstable and difficult to play in without a roof. As it was a damaged and abandoned estate, that idea was scrapped. That's also why the braizers against the door have no flames.