All times are UTC


It is currently Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:50 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Can you charge from defensible terrain
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 9:33 am 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 10:20 pm
Posts: 15
We couldn't find anything which said we couldn't. And we had a situation where a formation came within range of a wood so that the defenders could leave the wood in accordance with the rules defining that (at least one company touching the terrain etc).
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Can you charge from defensible terrain
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 3:26 pm 
Craftsman
Craftsman
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:34 am
Posts: 262
Erm, no.

You cannot simply charge from defensible terrain, against anything close to the terrain feature. But you can charge something on the turn you successfully exit the defensible terrain feature.

To leave defensible terrain, you must follow the procedure in the book. That is, move a company touching the terrain and all other companies is formation and within 6" of the terrain. (Note most of a company's tray can be outside 6", as long as some tiny fraction is within 6" it's good)

This counts as the units full move for the turn. For the purposes of shooting it counts as a half move so ranged weapons can be used in the shooting phase.

Now you have exited the defensible terrain you can charge anything as normal in the Charge Phase.

Note if an enemy is within 6" or so of the terrain the 'Death at the Gates' rule applies and the formation must pass a courage test in order to leave the nice safe snug defences.

_________________
A second Edition for The War of the Ring:http://wessexcodex.wordpress.com

Taking the War in Middle earth to a new level!
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Can you charge from defensible terrain
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 4:37 pm 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 10:20 pm
Posts: 15
Thanks. Do you have a page reference or FAQ source for this or is it just your interpretation?
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Can you charge from defensible terrain
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 5:08 pm 
Craftsman
Craftsman
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:34 am
Posts: 262
There are very specific rules about how to exit defensible terrain.

They would not be there if one could just 'charge' from the feature.

So while there is no *specific* text saying you cannot charge from a defensible terrain feature that I know of. It is simply that you cannot.

My experience includes two official GW run WOTR tournaments at the NEC and at Nottingham HQ. In no case did anybody charge from, or even try to charge from, defensible terrain. One must exit it first.

_________________
A second Edition for The War of the Ring:http://wessexcodex.wordpress.com

Taking the War in Middle earth to a new level!


Last edited by daersalon on Tue Nov 01, 2016 5:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Can you charge from defensible terrain
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 5:19 pm 
Craftsman
Craftsman
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:34 am
Posts: 262
Discussions on this have been here before linky below:

http://wap.one-ring.co.uk/viewtopic.php ... dda2932e4d

_________________
A second Edition for The War of the Ring:http://wessexcodex.wordpress.com

Taking the War in Middle earth to a new level!
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Can you charge from defensible terrain
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 5:30 pm 
Craftsman
Craftsman
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:34 am
Posts: 262
But to clarify the intent of the rules, on page 52 at the bottom of the first column about Defensible Terrain it says:

"However, a formation that occupies a terrain feature of this kind sacrifices its manoeuvrability for a turn or two, and a cunning foe can take advantage of that!"

Charging an approaching enemy from the terrain clearly goes against the intent of the rules. Giving you a disproportionate advantage when occupying terrain in both defence and the ability to charge in any direction at an enemy, this is more than a formation in the field can do. And if you fail a charge, you stay put safe and snug with higher defence.

So no. No charging from defensible terrain.

_________________
A second Edition for The War of the Ring:http://wessexcodex.wordpress.com

Taking the War in Middle earth to a new level!
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Can you charge from defensible terrain
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 6:55 pm 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 10:20 pm
Posts: 15
That's fine. Thanks for the help. Will look at the link too, didn't see that.
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: