All times are UTC


It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:51 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Are you obliged to fight?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:17 pm 
Kinsman
Kinsman
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:09 am
Posts: 92
Hi everybody,

Quick and easy : are you obliged to fight ? If so, are you obliged to make strikes if you win?

I can't find if it's written somewhere in the rulebooks. Thank you for your help :)
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Are you obliged to fight?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:51 pm 
Elven Warrior
Elven Warrior
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:19 am
Posts: 504
Yes. If a model is in base contact with an enemy, he has to fight and he has to strike. Only exception to the rule is the One Ring, who allows the ringbearer to escape from the fight and Grima, who can choose to not make strikes.
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Are you obliged to fight?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:43 pm 
Kinsman
Kinsman
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 5:30 am
Posts: 120
Also, if you Shield, you will not be able to make strikes.

_________________
Forlorn, I remove my Iron Guard from the pile of Goblins; just staring at that 6 with disbelief.
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Are you obliged to fight?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:34 am 
Kinsman
Kinsman
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:09 am
Posts: 92
Hi guys,

Thanks for your help =)
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Are you obliged to fight?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 1:00 pm 
Loremaster
Loremaster
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 8:41 pm
Posts: 1276
As suggested there are only a few times you'll be able to avoid wounding someone with full certainty (but yes, you must take part in the Duel roll and yes you must strike if not one of the special cases).

Grima, Tom Bombadil, Goldberry and other such special cases that tell you you can/have to avoid striking.
When Shielding you make no strikes (except for Thorin using the Oakenshield, who will still have to make his one strike).
Using Special Strikes - either Bash or Stun (clubs, staves, hammers, maces, etc).
Certain Brutal Power Attacks, such as Barge (there are probably some that are unique to certain monsters/character monsters, but I don't know them off the top of my head).
When knocked prone, but you then win the fight - instead of striking, you stand up.
When you end up fighting a friendly model (although this mostly ties back into Thrain the Broken and Grima etc).

I imagine that there are other examples too - but as you can see, these are exceptions tot he rule and situational, so not evry model can do these things.
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: